0 0 0 0 0 0

Segmented Flow: The Droplet as a Reactor

Micro-structured reactors can be used to process multi-phase fluid systems (e. g. liquid/liquid or gas/liquid) with high precision in the form of segmented flows which opens up new opportunities for interesting applications. In specially developed microfluidic structures, we segment fluids continuously into a second liquid phase by shearing them off or constricting them in the form of droplets or bubbles. The size of the droplets or bubbles formed and the frequency of the segmentation can be controlled very precisely through the selected flow conditions, reactor geometries and other process parameters. The droplets or fluid segments function as closed reaction vessels having no chemical interaction with the transport phase. Within the fluid segments each with a volume of just a few nanolitres syntheses of high value products can be performed by suppressing cross-contamination, dilution and dispersion effects caused by convection and diffusion. Moreover, mixing of the reagents in the nanolitre segment is strongly intensified by advection.

On the other hand, segmented flow processing can also be used to deliberately intensify interaction between two-phase systems. By providing large interfacial areas, we can significantly accelerate the mass transport over the phase boundary layers compared to macroscopic processes. Typical applications are phase transfer catalysis and other two-phase organic syntheses.

Segmented flow processes in microreactors are also used at the Fraunhofer ICT for manufacturing microscale particulate products. For example, the precise control of the droplet size is used to synthesise monomodal spherical polymer particles in the microreactor or to manufacture polymer microcapsules, which can be filled with a wide range of active ingredients during the process. The size of the polymer particles is infinitely adjustable over a broad range, e.g. between 5 m and 300 m; typical wall thicknesses of polymer microcapsules lie in the range
of approx. 100 nm.

Microreactor for segmented flow processes.

 

Generation of segmented flow in a microchannel (high-speed video).


Dosing reagents into droplets within a microchannel (high-speed video).

 

Droplet fusion in a microchannel (high-speed video)

.


Production of spherical polymer particles.

 

Chemical reaction by merging droplets (high-speed Video).


0 0
0

Continuous synthesis of filled microcapsules: Monitoring via high-speed microscopy.


0 0 0

Synthesis of droplet-in-droplet composites in microreactors (high-speed videos)


 

         
0
  © 2009 Fraunhofer Institute for Chemical Technology | Imprint

0 0 0 0

Segmentierter Fluss: Der Tropfen als Reaktor

In mikrostrukturierten Reaktoren lassen sich mehrphasige Stoffsysteme (beispielsweise flüssig/flüssig oder gas/flüssig) mit hoher Präzision in Form von segmentierten Flüssen prozessieren – was interessante Anwendungsmöglichkeiten bietet.

In speziell entwickelten mikrofluidischen Strukturen segmentieren wir Fluide durch Abriss oder Abschnürung in Form von Tropfen oder Blasen in eine zweite Flüssigphase. Über die gewählten Strömungsverhältnisse, Reaktorgeometrien und andere Prozessbedingungen lassen sich dabei die Größe der erzeugten Tropfen und Blasen sowie die Frequenz der Segmentierung sehr genau kontrollieren. Die Tropfen oder Flüssigsegmente fungieren als abgeschlossene Reaktionsräume mit wenigen Nanoliter Volumen, die mit der Transportphase keine chemischen Wechselwirkungen eingehen. Auf diese Weise können wir insbesondere bei hochwertigen Wirkstoffsynthesen Querkontaminationen, Verdünnungs- und Dispersionseffekte durch Konvektion und Diffusion unterdrücken. Darüber hinaus wird die Durchmischung der Reaktionspartner im Nanoliter-Segment durch Advektion stark intensiviert.

Eine segmentierte Prozessführung kann aber auch eingesetzt werden, um die Wechselwirkung zwischen zweiphasigen Systemen gezielt zu intensivieren. Durch die Bereitstellung großer Grenzflächen können wir Stofftransportprozesse über die Phasengrenzfläche im Vergleich zu makroskopischen Prozessen z. T. drastisch beschleunigen. Typische Anwendungen sind Phasentransferkatalysen und andere zweiphasige organische Synthesen.

Die segmentierte Prozessführung in Mikroreaktoren wird am Fraunhofer ICT auch für die Herstellung mikroskaliger partikulärer Produkte eingesetzt. Die exakte Kontrolle über die Tropfengröße wird beispielsweise genutzt, um monomodale sphärische Polymerpartikel im Mikroreaktor zu synthetisieren oder um polymere Mikrokapseln herzustellen, die im Prozess mit unterschiedlichsten Wirkstoffen gefüllt werden können. Die Größe der Polymerpartikel kann stufenlos in einem breiten Bereich, zum Beispiel zwischen 5 µm und 300 µm, eingestellt werden, typische Wandstärken von polymeren Mikrokapseln liegen bei ca. 100 nm.


Mikroreaktor für die Erzeugung von segmentierten Flüssen

 

Herstellung von segmentierten Flüsen in einem Mikroreaktor (High-Speed Video).


Reagentiendosierung in einzelne Tropfen innerhalb eines Mikrokanals (High-Speed Video).  

Tropfen-Fusion im Mikrokanal (High-Speed Video).


Herstellung von sphärischen Polymerpartikeln.

 

Vereinigung von Reaktionspartnern durch Tropfen-Fusion (High-Speed Video).


0 0
0

Kontinuierliche Synthese von gefüllten Mikrokapseln an einem High-Speed-Mikroskop.


0 0 0

Herstellung von Tropfen-in-Tropfen Composites in Mikroreaktoren (High-Speed Videos)


 

         
0
  © 2009 Fraunhofer Institut für Chemische Technologie | Impressum